Hasta Luego Madrid

Standard

It has taken me quite some time to write this post, in part, because it means that I have truly left Spain. However, now that summer is coming to an end, it seems most fitting that I update the blog with the last portion of my adventure in Spain.

I have never felt so much love than on the eve of my departure from Spain. Every single night for two weeks was filled with drinks or dinners with various groups of friends, demonstrating the deep connections I made while I was in Madrid. I have learned over the years to be open to new experiences, perspectives, and cultures.

Since I have been home, many people have asked if I miss Spain. They mention the “siestas” and the “paellas” as something to miss. However, they fail to hit the mark. I am sure that I will miss the authentic cuisine, but truthfully, what I will miss most of Spain are my friends. I will miss birthdays and other celebrations in the next few years, but I know that I will remain a part of their lives as they will remain a part of mine. Thankfully, technology has allowed us to remain in close contact even if miles of ocean separate us. And besides, with my future studies, I will definitely be in Madrid over the next couple of years and so, I said “¡Hasta Luego Madrid, espero que sea muy pronto!”

13330987_10154023096325358_1880751032539262556_n.jpg

Farewell dinner with friends

 

Leave a Reply

