Burgos: A Summer Destination

Standard

A few weeks ago, although now it feels like ages ago, I traveled to Burgos, Spain for my last weekend getaway to visit the Convent Las Huelgas. That Saturday afternoon, after finishing practice I climbed aboard to ALSA bus to Burgos and arrived early that evening. Since I was not meeting my rental host until later that evening, and I knew that her place was located near the Cathedral of Saint Mary, I thought it would be best to spend the evening visiting the revered site of worship. Construction began in 1221 following typical French Gothic plans; however, the majority of the changes to the structure occurred during the 15th and 16th centuries. The Cathedral was later renovated in the 19th and 20th centuries. For more information about the Cathedral, please see its webpage here.

IMG_9305

Gate into Burgos

From the outside, the numerous crenelated spikes and towers suggest the beauty of the cathedral’s interior. Yet, even this decorous exterior does not prepare you for the splendor inside. Initially, you enter through the side doors, where there are two funerary chapels flanking either side. The entire perimeter of the Cathedral is filled with ornate chapels, each donated by a different local family and decorated according to their whims and desires. Although there are many splendid altarpieces found throughout these chapels, the most beautiful part of the Cathedral for me was the decoration of the ceilings. Each chapel approached the ceiling differently, some extended visually the images found on the other walls, others used decorated crenulation to move the eyes towards the intricate vaulting that culminated in the family’s coat of arms. The best ceiling decoration, however, was not found in a rotating chapel, but rather the central vault, right as one entered the choired section of the Cathedral. Below are images found from the different chapels and the interior of the Cathedral to give you a glimpse of its beauty.

IMG_9310

Burgos Cathedral of Saint Mary

IMG_9313

Enter a caption

IMG_9315

Touristic entrance to the Cathedral

IMG_9318

Chapel of the Visitation – 15th Century

IMG_9331

Chapel of Saint Henry – 17th Century

IMG_9327

Transcept – Choir of the Cathedral

IMG_9334

Saint Michael on the gate of the Choir

IMG_9377

Rotating Chapel 15th century

IMG_9342

Chapel of Reliquaries

IMG_9345

Ceiling to the Chapel of Reliquaries

IMG_9381

The Procesional “Golden” Staircase

IMG_9394

View of the ceiling over the altar

IMG_9412

Chapel of the Constables (15th-17th centuries)

IMG_9414

Chapel of the Condestables

IMG_9427

Tourists looking up at the ceiling above

After visiting all of the main parts of the Cathedral proper, I continued my visit to the attached cloister where they explained the different phases of construction and displayed devotional pieces from their collections. Some highlights of their collection include the Mary Magdalene by Leonardo Da Vinci and the Virgin of the Rosary sculpture from China. I loved this sculpture from Macao because although this is the typical posture for a Virgin and Child sculpture, both people represented are given oriental features highlighting where it was produced.

IMG_9469

IMG_9442

View of the interior patio through the Stained ag

IMG_9429

Hallway of the Cloister

IMG_9416

Mary Magdalene, Leonardo DaVinci, Chapel of the Condestables

IMG_9448

Virgin and Child, anonymous, 16th century

IMG_9451

The Virgin of the Rosary, from Macao China, 16th century

IMG_9477

Other main entrance to the Cathedral

As I stepped back out onto the streets of Burgos I came across a local procession; however, this was not of the religious type. The lady with whom I stayed told me that every weekend a group of friends will get a permit to hold a procession in the streets. Typically, she said one group will start in the early afternoon and another will pick up where they left off in the late evening. Her knowledge of these processions came from her flat’s location on one of the main streets that they pass along. I followed the procession along, like many other people in the streets swaying to the live music until we reached the Plaza Mayor where I broke away to view its vast expansive space.

IMG_9479

IMG_9486

Plaza Mayor, Burgos

I decided to take full advantage of the daylight and continued to explore the rest of the city to the best of my ability. Although the Convent Las Hueglas was not that far away from the city center, I knew there was a possibility I would not be back on Sunday for more exploration after visiting the convent and wanted to see as much as possible before I left. From the Plaza I climbed to the top of the Park of Castile to overlook the entire city. It was filled with youths drinking in the back woods excited for their Saturday night revelry.

IMG_9490

View from above, Burgos

IMG_9501

One of the original gates of Burgos 

On my descend, I stopped by the Museum of Saint Steven, which houses the collection of altarpieces. Unfortunately, the Museum is only open during the summer months, July and August, which is a common trend in the city. This is because peak tourism occurs in these months and it is not economical for them to be open in other months – at least that is what they claim.

IMG_9495

Museum Saint Steven of Altarpieces

As the sun began to set, I set off in search of dinner. I first headed to a posh bar that had a Michelin star, where I tried two funky tapas with a glass of wine before heading to the next place. I have learned that these places are fun for the experience of exotic renditions of traditional fare, but if you’re interested in actually curbing your hunger, it’s much better to go to a dive bar where you will be sure to get enough food. I waited to order Morcilla, a traditional blood sausage dish that is made in Burgos, until I found a dive bar, because there are certain things you just want done the traditional way. While a soccer game was playing in the background I struck up a conversation with the table on my left who were giving me suggestions on where to eat the following day. With a full content stomach, I headed back to my room to get a good night’s rest.

Sunday morning I awoke relatively early in hopes of making it to the convent on foot before the tours began, so that I could glimpse part of their religious services. As I cut across the river and parks, I joined many pilgrims who were on their way to Santiago Compostela because that journey runs straight through Burgos and consequentially Las Huelgas. Unfortunately, I made a wrong turn mistakenly reading the sign that pointed to the convent equivocally and ended up at the faculty of law of the University. By the time I righted my wrong, I had doubled my walking time.

IMG_9512

Pathway to the Faculty of Law

As I strode into the main patio in front of the Convent in search of the ticket office a man standing on upper balcony window telling all of the people gathered in the patio that the convent was closed for the day. There were approximately 20 or so people, who like myself were rather miffed as to it being closed. He kept reiterating that it was a holiday for workers and they would be open on Monday. The problem was not that the convent was closed, it was the lack of communication that it would be closed. Almost everyone who was there could not go and visit another day. I expressly made this trip that particular weekend because according to Patrimonio Nacional it was not closed and best coincided with the rest of my schedule.

Desperate to get inside, I asked him politely if they were still holding mass. He told me that I could in fact attend mass, but I had to agree to stay the whole hour. Without hesitating I told him that I would be more than willing to stay. A few other people decided to join the mass, whereas the others left the grounds. Those of us who stayed were rather fortunate because we were given a brisk tour of the whole convent because the nuns do not use the large church for their services, but rather a small chapel located inside the cloistered part of the church, which is why we had to follow the security guard into the sanctuary. The austere chapel differed from the rest of what we saw leading up to the chapel; however, the mass was a beautiful display of faith especially shown through the polyphony music. I tried to soak up all of the various spaces and images on our way out and decided that although I was not able to see the entire convent on a tour, my trip was not for naught, because I was able to experience the convent, something that most tours do not allow us to do.

IMG_9521

Exterior of Las Huelgas

IMG_9522

First Patio of Las Huelgas

IMG_9523

Fountain and Patio of Las Huelgas

After leaving the mass, the man in the window had disappeared and many people were gathering in the patio trying to figure out what was going on with the convent. One couple from Madrid asked me if I knew where they could buy tickets and I explained that it was closed today. They then suggested that we all go to the Monastery Cartuja de Miraflores (click here for a virtual tour of the monastery). Initially, they wanted to take the bus, but some locals told us that the buses only run in the summer (again there really is a preferred season to visit Burgos) and that our best way to visit this gem would be in taxi. The building dates to a palace commissioned by Henry III in 1401. His son, John II, later converted the palace into the Carthusian monastery. A fire destroyed much of the building in 1452 and its reconstruction was not finished until the end of the century, under the reign of Isabel I of Castile.

IMG_9530

Cartuja de Miraflores

As we walked crossed the threshold of the chapel, which was divided into three separate spaces, we were initially struck by the light scent of roses perfuming the air. We all kept looking for the flower arrangements only to learn later that it was an extract made by the monks to highlight the sacredness of the site. The monks sold this perfume in their shop and I bought a small bottle to bring a little of Spain to Boston with me this fall.

IMG_9532

View of the first room 

IMG_9534

Vaulting of the chapel of Cartuja de Miraflores

The decoration of the high altar made up for the sparse decoration found in the first two rooms, starting with the gates separating the two spaces and culminating in the rich decoration of the altarpiece. The wooden carved altarpiece uses high relief and gilding to portray the exaltation of the Eucharist. Right in front of the altar in the shape of an eight-pointed star is the tomb sculpture commissioned by Isabel I of Castile to honor John II of Castile and his wife. Seeing as he transformed the palace into a monastery, it is fitting that his tomb sculpture be present in this chapel. The intricate carving of the alabaster not only captures the likeness of the royal couple, but also displays flora and fauna with such detail that scholars can accurately name the different species.

IMG_9538

View from the second room of chapel

IMG_9548

High Altar Cartuja de Miraflores 

IMG_9555

John II

IMG_9560

Tomb of Juan II and Isabel of Portugal

In the side vestibule there was an exhibit displaying other prize pieces of the monastery, which is still active. The portrait of Isabel I of Castile caught my attention as I have seen many different versions of this queen throughout my travels, but many portray her as a young queen rather than in her later stage of life as this one does. We were not able to visit the cloister or other spaces of the monastery, but could hear the monks chanting their morning prayers as we left.

IMG_9569

Portrait of Isabel I of Castile 

IMG_9608

Exterior of Cartucha de Miraflores

IMG_9612

Exterior Cartucha de Miraflores

From the monastery, we all headed back to the center of Burgos where I left my new friends to have lunch at a local place that had been recommended to me the previous night. I just lucked out and missed the crowds and was able to receive a table. (As I left there were approximately twenty people waiting patiently to eat.) Next to the restaurant was a touristic chacuterie and although I would not normally stop at a tourist place to buy local goods, given that it was Sunday and nothing else was open, i decided that it was my best bet to bring traditional morcilla back to Madrid with me.

Since there were still a few hours until my bus left, I visited the Church of Saint Nicolas, located right next to the Cathedral. This tiny temple was founded as a church in 1408 on the ruins of a Roman temple. The main altarpiece is all carved in stone, which given the detail and precision with which it was carved does not appear to be stone, but rather a more plastic medium.

IMG_9613

Church of Saint Nicolas 

IMG_9617

High Altar of Saint Nicolas 

IMG_9625

Detail of the High Altar of the Church of Saint Nicolas 

This final church was the perfect end to my weekend. I look back fondly on this trip as a reminder that you can only plan so much in advance, and sometimes the best adventure is the one that finds you. I am sure that someday I will find my way back to Burgos, hopefully on the path to Santiago, but until then I am very content with adventure in this Castilian city.

Leave a Reply

