Home for the Holidays

Standard

There is nothing like going home for the Holidays!! Due to the crazy lives we all live, it’s hard to spend as much quality time together as we would all like. Therefore, 10 days together is an extra special treat.

IMG_0011

Every year our family does a form of secret (not so secret) Santa, where we draw names out of hat and then get one stellar gift for that family member. In the past we have been known to collaborate to make sure that we get a good gift for our secret person and this year was no different. After speaking with my brother, who had my mother, we decided collectively that we did not want to give our parents (I had my father) things, but rather experiences that allowed us to spend more one on one time with them. My brother organized a fabulous day trip with waking tours and fun restaurants for my mother in San Francisco. Whereas, I chose to give my dad special night out in Sacramento. Although my father has always appreciated art, he has actually never painted. In most cities you can find a painting class that couples wine with an introductive course, which I thought would be perfect for us. We had a wonderful time at The Painted Cork class. As you can see from the photos below, a sketch of the city is placed on the canvas before you start painting. Then as you snack on the treats you brought and sip on wine, the instructor gives general instructions for how to complete the painting. For example, the first one is mix the yellow and white together and fill in all of the stars. Although we all follow the exact same instructions, our interpretations of them can result in very different images. Can you figure our which painting of the Sacramento Starry Night below is mine and which is my father’s?

IMG_0030

IMG_0038

The days spent cooking delicious meals, puzzling, talking and playing games quickly flew by and suddenly it was time for all of us to head back to our “normal” worlds. I am so thankful for those days we had together and look forward to the next time we can play Epidemic!

IMG_0048IMG_0054

Ps. In case you were curious, my painting is the one on the right.

Leave a Reply

