a POP of color

Standard

Inspired by the Richard Hamilton exhibit this last fall, I decided to make personalized works of art to decorate our sparse living room. I wanted the art to represent us as a flat and so I focused on the current roommates that I have lived with and two of our closest friends.

To begin, I photographed each person in seated in profile, which formed the base outline of each face. Then I traced that onto a sheet of patterned paper before using modpodge to adhere to a solid colored canvas (which I had previously painted). Since each person is on an individual canvas, the collection can continue to grow expotentially.

Below are two photos of how the canvases are currently hung on the walls followed by closeups of each canvas.

IMG_7210 IMG_7223 IMG_7211 IMG_7212 IMG_7214 IMG_7215 IMG_7216 IMG_7221 IMG_7222

I think it’s safe to say we all need just a little POP of color in our lives.

Leave a Reply

