Jimmy and Liz’s Visit from the Queen City

Standard

Right after my conference I had the good fortune of meeting up with Jimmy and Liz Foster. For those who do not know them, they are an instrumental pillar of my Charlotte Family.  Since they were spending a few days in Madrid, we decided that it would be best to start with a tour of the Prado to give an orientation to the Royal Art Collection and also it is my one special tour.  Therefore, their first afternoon in Madrid we gathered at the Goya Statue in front of the ticket office to begin our tour. The more that I give tours, the more that I love them. There is a constant mix of personal details with the art.  The different circumstances surrounding each visit alter the perception of art. The painting might depict the same scene, but each time it is slightly different. This tour was particularly special as we spoke of Charlotte, our family and loved ones, whom I have not seen in over a year and a half, while examining some of the best Northern Renaissance, Renaissance and Spanish Art.

We carried our lively discussion to the top of the Old Post Office in the Plaza de Cibeles, where while sipping on glasses of Ribera we witnessed one of the most incredible sunsets, (There was also a brief strike but I cannot remember what the cause was). I am hopping that Liz and Jimmy will pass along some of the photos that were taken during the evening so that I can attach them to the post. We then headed up to Plaza Santa Ana passing through the District of the Letters and chose a nice table on the plaza for dinner. It was a balmy evening, which made it perfect for a meal outside.

Upon my recommendation, the following morning they both visited Las Descalzas Reales, and now have an idea of what space I am writing about in my master’s thesis. Fortunately for me, we reunited one last time before they headed off at the Casa de Botín, the oldest restaurant in all of Europe to try their suckling pig.  It was a cute restaurant with lots of character, but if I am honest, it was not the best suckling pig that I have ever had. The company; however, more than made up for the so-so food. On our walk back towards their hotel, I was able to share little bits and pieces of my experience in Madrid. I am so glad that we were able to get together and am so looking forward to seeing them again in Charlotte next month!!

Leave a Reply

