Merry Christmas Eve

Standard

‘Twas the night before Christmas, when all through the house
not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse.
The drawings were hung by the hall with care,
in hopes that Papa Noel soon would be there.

The roommates were nestled all snug in their countr(ies),
while they feasted and dined with very good compan(ies).
And I with my (new) nightgown and the puzzle’s test,
have just settled my brain for a long winter’s rest.

“Happy Christmas to all, and to all a good night!”

I fear that I did not receive the “rhyming gene” from Noanie(my grandmother); however, that clearly did not stop me from attempting to make a poem. In many ways this little poem encapsulates my Christmas this year.

Stefan and I celebrated Christmas today by making a large lunch before he left for the airport. He was my last roommate to leave and it was lovely to have someone around this weekend as most of my roommates left on Friday or Saturday.  In many ways it is nice to be alone in the flat, for example, I can walk around in my underwear and not worry about who will walk in. That being said, Christmas truly isn’t about the gifts you get or receive, it’s about the people you spend it with and although a continent and ocean separate us this year I know that I am with my family in spirit. (I am very thankful for Skype and other modern inventions that make it so easy to stay in touch)

Since the flat is a little dull, I have gotten many of the little quintessential “Mills” things for Christmas. We decorated the hallway with many colorings for festive measure and made a rum cake (which is delicious). Today, I bought new pajamas for the night before Christmas and will start to work on the puzzle that Noanie sent me for Christmas (I have yet to open the package but the customs form told me it was a puzzle).

ImageImage

Tomorrow I will go to mass at the Convent of Las Descalzas and then come home and cook myself a dinner of mushroom risotto and asparagus. I look forward to talking with all of my family members through skype and will enjoy my five days of peace and quite before the first of my roommates comes back.

HAPPY HOLIDAYS FROM SPAIN!

Leave a Reply

